A Bit About Me: Shakayla Lee

Hello!

I’m Shakayla Lee. As a college student, at the University of Florida, I am in the beginning stages of my journey. Naturally, during this stage of my life I have noticed that I am on a path of constant self-discovery. Although it did not take long for me to realize that my ability to binge-watch hours of Chopped has indirectly upped my food-IQ and coined me a self-proclaimed expert chef, my other talents were slowly discovered. For many years I was the girl who always had her nose in a book, and-frankly- nothing has changed. However, over time my fascination by the ability to be transported into another world through intricately crafted wording evolved into a personal interest in not only expressing myself, but also being heard. Thus, I began to write.

Utterly vested in my passion for storytelling, I find that my ultimate interest is the (seldom highlighted) trials and triumphs of the black woman. This blog serves to voice compelling and engaging issues that pertain to black women, and encourage the recognition of the beauty in complexity and growth. Becoming Hue is dedicated to empowering, educating, and entertaining black women, while providing them with an outlet that speaks directly to their unique concerns.

Embarking on this journey, I hold the great words of Maya Angelou very dear to me: “My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.” This statement touches me for several reasons. (Yes, I do have a mild obsession with Maya Angelou, but that’s not the reason.)  In life it is easy to set a goal, go through the motions to achieve it, and realize far too late that what you once desired does not make you personally happy (i.e. almost everyones greatest fear). I use this mantra as a personal reminder to allow my passions to reflect my ambitions, and I hope you find some truth in it too. In my eyes, living with “passion, humor and style” is a vital aspect in “Becoming Hue”.

img_20160204_2326151

Leave a Reply

